Currently, Indonesia has 33 provinces (of those, 2 are special territories and 1 capital city territory). The provinces are subdivided into regencies and cities, which are in turn split up in sub-districts. The provinces are:

  • Bali
  • Bangka-Belitung
  • Banten
  • Bengkulu
  • Central Java
  • Central Kalimantan
  • Central Sulawesi
  • East Java
  • East Kalimantan
  • East Nusa Tenggara
  • South Sumatra
  • Gorontalo
  • Jambi
  • Lampung
  • Maluku
  • North Maluku
  • North Sulawesi
  • North Sumatra
  • Papua (Irian Jaya)
  • Riau
  • Riau epulauan
  • South East Sulawesi
  • South Kalimantan
  • South Sulawesi
  • West Irian Jaya
  • West Java
  • West Kalimantan
  • West Nusa Tenggara
  • West Sulawesi
  • West Sumatra

The special territories (daerah istimewa) are Aceh (or Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam) and Yogyakarta. Special territories have more autonomy from the central government than other territories, and as a result they have unique legislative privileges: the Acehnese government has the right to create an independent legal system and instituted a form of sharia (Islamic Law) in 2003; Yogyakarta remains a sultanate whose sultan (currently the wildly popular Sri Sultan Hamengkubuwono X) is the territory’s de facto governor for life.

The capital city territory is Jakarta. Though Jakarta is a single city, it is administered much as any other Indonesian province. For example, Jakarta has a governor (instead of a mayor), and is divided into several sub-regions with their own administrative systems.

East Timor was a province of Indonesia from 1975 when it was annexed by military invasion, until Indonesia relinquished sovereignty in 1999, after years of bitter fighting against East Timor guerillas, and abuses reaped on the East Timorese civilians by Indonesian military forces. Following a period of transitional administration by the UN, it became an independent state in 2002.